The Royal Navy Type 21 Frigates: Pioneers of Naval Excellence.


The Royal Navy's Type 21 frigates hold an esteemed position in the maritime history of the United Kingdom. These frigates, which were commissioned in the late 1960s, were pivotal in reshaping the Royal Navy's capabilities during a period of significant change and modernization. In this comprehensive blog post, we will explore the remarkable legacy of the Royal Navy Type 21 frigates, from their inception to their contributions and the lasting impact they left on naval warfare.

The Birth of the Type 21 Frigates:

The late 1960s marked a turning point for the Royal Navy, as it sought to replace aging warships with more modern and versatile vessels. The need for a new class of frigates that could excel in multiple roles, from anti-submarine warfare to surface combat and patrol duties, gave rise to the Type 21 frigates. The design process was characterized by innovation, resulting in a sleek and efficient hull form that made the Type 21 one of the fastest ships in the Royal Navy's fleet at the time.

Design and Specifications:

The Type 21 frigates were notable for their advanced design and specifications. With a length of approximately 384 feet (117 meters) and a displacement of around 3,400 tons, these vessels were both powerful and agile. They were powered by a combination of gas turbine engines and diesel generators, allowing for high-speed dashes during combat and economical cruising during peacetime operations. The armament on board included a mix of anti-ship and anti-air missiles, torpedoes, and naval guns, making them formidable adversaries in naval warfare.

Versatility in Action:

One of the standout features of the Type 21 frigates was their adaptability. These frigates could seamlessly transition between various roles, such as escorting convoys, conducting anti-submarine warfare, providing naval gunfire support, and patrolling international waters. This versatility made them invaluable assets to the Royal Navy in times of both conflict and peace. A notable example of their adaptability was their pivotal role in the Falklands War in 1982, where several Type 21 frigates played a crucial part in safeguarding the British Task Force and providing naval bombardment against Argentine positions.

Contributions and Legacy:

Throughout their years of service, the Type 21 frigates made significant contributions to the Royal Navy's missions and global naval operations. They participated in various conflicts, including the Gulf War, and took part in numerous NATO deployments, further establishing their adaptability and combat capabilities. Some Type 21 frigates were also sold to other navies, extending their legacy beyond the Royal Navy.

List of Royal Navy Type 21 Frigates:

Here is a list of the Royal Navy Type 21 frigates:

  1. HMS Amazon (F169): Launched in 1971, decommissioned in 1994.
  2. HMS Antelope (F170): Launched in 1972, sunk during the Falklands War in 1982.
  3. HMS Active (F171): Launched in 1972, decommissioned in 1994.
  4. HMS Ambuscade (F172): Launched in 1973, decommissioned in 1993.
  5. HMS Arrow (F173): Launched in 1974, decommissioned in 1994.
  6. HMS Alacrity (F174): Launched in 1975, played a significant role in the Falklands War.
  7. HMS Avenger (F185): Launched in 1976, decommissioned in 1993.


The Royal Navy Type 21 frigates were exceptional vessels that left an indelible mark on naval history. Their adaptability, innovative design, and unwavering service in times of conflict and peace stand as a testament to the ingenuity of naval engineering and the dedication of the sailors who manned them. While they have been retired from active service, the legacy of the Type 21 frigates endures in the lessons learned and the influence they had on subsequent generations of naval vessels.